Legacy of scars

The golden goal shines,

Enchanting with its allure.

I am drawn, transfixed.

 

Seduced by the promise of glitter,

Ploughing through hardships many,

I trod, gathering the legacy of scars.

 

My body beaten, my resolve broken,

Too tired to pursue, too weary to protest,

I accept the burden of failure, defeated.

*********

Time applies, its soothing balm,

Maturity feeds me, detachment,

Regret gifts me, the mirror of reflection.

 

Wearing the lens of hindsight, I look back,

Why was I so drawn to the golden orb?

When I am standing on one, if only smaller?

 

The hole in my soul echoes its answer.

“The pursuit of labor was a good deed,

Until you sold contentment, for greed.”

 

Propelled by hard work once more I am.

Peace and contentment cushioning the ride,

Trading the legacy of scars, for pearls of wisdom.

 

Leave a comment