The search

vw-in-israel-wmq

PHOTO PROMPT © Kent Bonham

I had feared the worst when I had not seen the old man for a few Sundays. I had searched for the immaculate, blue Volkswagen in front of the church; strained to glimpse him nodding to me from under the trees while he patiently waited. I had surmised his atheism was at peace with another’s faith. Where was he?

Next Sunday, I was relieved to see the car. After a hurried search in the trees, I entered the church to find him in tearful prayer. I gasped as I heard Father tell him “She is with Him. She is happy”.

Word count: 100


Flash fiction in response to Friday Fictioneers hosted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff.

20 thoughts on “The search

    1. Drastic events have drastic effects on a mind. The way I pictured the events was that the unbearable loss instigated some raw feelings in the old man in addition to desperation and sorrow – insecurity, fear, loneliness, etc. In his loss, he seeks some explanation, some answers, perhaps some solace. He slowly turns to God. Perhaps in time, his search may end and he might be able to make peace with his loss. I truly hope for that!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Beautiful sadness well told. Are you sure you weren’t describing my Gr. Grandfather who took my Gram and me to church every Sunday and for every activity, but never came inside. Always and ever sitting in the car, listening to baseball games on the radio.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! When I saw the girl by the car in the photo, I found her expression to be somewhat detached. As though she didn’t own it. Then what connects her to the car? That was the birth of the story. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

