On a Saturday

Finish reading me! demanded the book;
Oh yes my love! in just a second.
Do the dishes! chided my mother;
Oh yes my mother! in just a jiffy.

I glided past all, as they put forth their call,
Imposing their demands, both large and small.
As my haven neared, I twirled and danced in joy,
For the spirits that I was in, nothing could destroy.

With a scream of triumph, into bed I flew,
In the crash and clamor, the blankets joined too.
My reverie was elated, for I had kept my word,
On that beautiful Saturday, I would be her bird.

Leave a Reply

